Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Saturday 2 December 2023 Dublin: 2°C

# Stars Of The Show

Last month
November 2023
Champions Limerick win seven All-Star hurling awards with five for Kilkenny
Clare duo John Conlon and Shane O’Donnell, and Galway’s Conor Whelan complete the team.
Champions Limerick win seven All-Star hurling awards with five for Kilkenny
Clare duo John Conlon and Shane O’Donnell, and Galway’s Conor Whelan complete the team.
This year
10 for Dublin and 9 for Kerry as 13 counties feature in All-Star football nominations
Seven nominees for Derry and four for Monaghan.
14 for Limerick as champions lead the way in 2023 All-Star hurling nominees
The 45-player shortlist has been revealed.
Three gold medals for Ireland in European U23 swimming championships
There was also a silver medal for Ireland’s Ellen Walshe in the 100m butterfly.
Who are the front-runners for the 2023 All-Star football awards?
Just one game to go in the championship as Kerry and Dublin get set tor the All-Ireland final.
Who are the leading contenders for the 2023 Hurler of the Year award?
Limerick and Kilkenny players are the front-runners.
Nominees revealed for 2023 Rugby Players Ireland Awards
The awards will take place on 17 May in Dublin.
Last year
Champions Limerick win seven hurling All-Stars with four for Kilkenny
Clare and Galway also have players honoured.
Champions Kerry win seven All-Star football awards with five for Galway
Derry duo Chrissy McKaigue and Conor Glass, and Dublin’s Ciarán Kilkenny complete the team.
12 for Limerick with 10 counties having players on 2022 All-Star hurling nominations
Clare, Galway, Cork, Wexford, Dublin, Tipperary, Waterford and Westmeath also have nominees.
12 for Kerry and 8 for Galway as 11 counties feature in All-Star football nominations
Derry, Dublin, Armagh, Cork, Limerick, Kildare, Monaghan, Mayo and Clare all have nominees.
Who are the leading contenders for the 2022 Hurler of the Year award?
We’re gearing up for Sunday’s final in Croke Park.
Kerry's Clifford and Tipperary's O'Mara win GAA higher education player of the year awards
Both players starred for UL this spring.
Champions Ballygunner and Kilcoo lead the way as 8 sides honoured in 2022 All-Ireland club awards
Dessie Hutchinson and Eugene Branagan have been announced as the Player of the Year winners.
All time
12 awards for Limerick as 2021 All-Star hurling team is named
Kilkenny, Waterford and Clare all have winners but All-Ireland finalists Cork miss out.
Meath, Westmeath and Carlow stars claim 2021 Player of the Year awards
Vikki Wall, Sarah Dillon and Clíodhna Ní Shé were honoured at last night’s awards.
The latest reminder of Limerick's dominance as hurling Allstars round off 2020 campaign
John Kiely’s side finished with nine winners after last night’s ceremony.
Shortlist revealed for RTÉ Sport Awards Team of the Year - who would you pick?
Two Dublin sides, Kilkenny camogie, Limerick hurling, Leinster rugby and Shamrock Rovers have all been nominated.
De Bruyne and Bayern Munich pair make up shortlist for Uefa Men’s Player of the Year award
Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp has been nominated for Men’s Coach of the Year.
From Willian to Allan – 5 players who shone as the Premier League returned
Gabriel, Willian, Salah, Harrison and Allan all impressed.
Dublin's Cluxton and Tipperary's Callanan are crowned 2019 GAA Player of the Year winners
This year’s All-Ireland winning captains were honoured tonight.
Galway pair and Limerick midfielder nominated in battle for 2018 Hurler of the Year
Joe Canning, Cian Lynch and Padraic Mannion have been recognised for their performances this season.
7 from Galway and 5 from Waterford - the 2017 All-Star hurling team
Cork and Tipperary also have winners in the PWC All-Star awards.
Who do you think should be the Leinster footballer and hurler of the year?
The winners will be announced by the Leinster Council early next month.
7 from Tipperary and 4 from Kilkenny - the 2016 All-Star hurling team
Galway and Waterford also have winners in the GAA-GPA awards.
6 from Dublin and 4 from Mayo - here's the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star football team
Tyrone, Tipperary, Donegal and Kerry also have winners.
Do you agree with the Leinster and Munster final man-of-the-match awards?
Conor Fogarty and Paul Geaney got the nod from The Sunday Game judges.